What's New at MSMS

The Brainstorm

12 STAR Students and Six STAR Teachers Recognized at Education Celebration

Star Student.jpg

Congratulations to MSMS students Grace Ann Beech, Cade Burton, Connor Chitmon, Caleb Colley, Austin Cosby, Alan Elgin, Victoria Gong, Lane Hughes, Maria Kaltchenko, Timothy Lewis, Kaelon McNeece, and Hamilton Wan on being recognized as STAR Students (Student-Teacher-Achievement Recognition Program). These STAR students were recognized for their academic achievement among the state’s high school students at the 2019 Mississippi Economic Council’s Education Celebration.

According to the MEC website, STAR students must have an ACT score of 25 or higher and an overall grade average of 93 or above in selected subjects in the ninth, tenth, eleventh, and first-semester of twelfth grade.

Each STAR Student is asked to designate a STAR Teacher – the teacher who has made the greatest contribution to the student’s scholastic achievement.  This year’s STAR teachers are Dr. Philip Benge, Mrs. Shae Koenigsberger, Dr. Elizabeth Morgan, Mrs. Emma Richardson, Mr. Chuck Yarborough, and Mrs. Lauren Zarandona.

The Mississippi Economic Council (MEC) and the M.B. Swayze Foundation sponsors the STAR Program. The theme for the 2019 Education Celebration was Reach for the Stars. Each STAR Student received a medallion, lapel pin and certificate in recognition of their achievements.

Janie ShieldsComment