Blog Archive

Welcome to the Brainstorm Blog! The primary news source the Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science (MSMS), Mississippi's only public, residential high school dedicated to the development of the state's most academically gifted students.

The MSMS Emissaries are Here!

In only a few days, the next generation of MSMS students will begin their journey at one of the most incredible educational experiences America has to offer. MSMS is preparing to welcome the 130 students who will make up the MSMS Class of 2017.

To get ready for junior Move-in-Day, 30 MSMS senior emissaries are spending all day Friday training and preparing.

“Emissaries are basically like our student ambassadors,” said MSMS admissions counselor Spike Harris. “Their job is to help the new students get acclimated to the school and work to promote the school to students and families all over the Magnolia State.”

On Saturday, August 1, the emissaries, along with faculty and staff volunteers, will assist the new juniors by helping them unload their belongings and get settled in their new home.

“The first day at MSMS can be a bit intimidating,” said one of the emissaries. “So we want to make their transition as smooth and comfortable as possible. We want them to know that they are welcome as a part of this family as soon as they arrive on campus."

The 2015-2016 Emissaries are:

  • Deldrick Adams of Byhalia.
  • Nathan Barlow of Starkville.
  • Jenny Bobo of Okolona.
  • Cole Borek of Senatobia.
  • Jake Bozlee of Long Beach.
  • Kameron Chow of Cleveland.
  • Shamarcus Doty of Lexington.
  • Sasha Edwards of Senatobia.
  • Tyler Etheridge of Columbus.
  • Rhet Hailey of Meridian.
  • Jenny Huang of Starkville.
  • Katelyn Jackson of Starkville.
  • Mary Madeline LaMastus of Cleveland.
  • Laurel Lancaster of Southaven.
  • Michelle Li of Starkville.
  • Ayana Love of Tchula.
  • Jacob McDonald of Pontotoc.
  • Summar McGee of Edwards.
  • Elle McKenzie of Hernando.
  • Aylin Memili of Starkville.
  • Latonia Parker of Columbus.
  • Kishan Patel of Magee.
  • Priya Sanipara of Vicksburg.
  • Kameron Shook of Ridgeland.
  • Tiana Spivey of Itta Bena.
  • Vasu Srevatsan of Hattiesburg.
  • Adam Stewart of Brookhaven.
  • Ella Stone of Tupelo.
  • Gregory Thompson of Lamar.
  • Madison Wardlaw of Lake Cormorant.
Spike HarrisComment