Blog Archive

Welcome to the Brainstorm Blog! The primary news source the Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science (MSMS), Mississippi's only public, residential high school dedicated to the development of the state's most academically gifted students.

India Yarborough Named Lindy Callahan Scholar-Athlete

Congratulations to MSMS Senior, India Yarborough, who became only the third MSMS student to win the Linda Callahan Scholar-Athlete Award. 

According to the Mississippi High School Activities Association (MHSAA), the honorees - one boy and one girl from high schools in each of the MHSAA's eight geographical districts - were chosen for their academic accomplishments as well as their participation in high school athletics and extracurricular activities. 

India will be honored, along with fifteen other winners, on Thursday, April 2nd at the MHSAA annual banquet in Jackson. She will also receive a $1500 college scholarship.

Previous MSMS honorees were Laurel Marsh, Class of 2012, and Stephanie Oshrin, Class of 2008.

The award ceremony will be livestreamed on the NFHS Network's Mississippi at




Spike HarrisComment